W1702 – Not Eden close

In my last post, W1702 – Sounds magic , I described a lovely day spent sailing through three fjords in the South Island of New Zealand. We spent the next two days at sea crossing the Tasman Sea on our way to our next port of call, Eden in Australia.

Eden is a coastal town in the South Coast region of New South Wales. The town is 478 kilometres south of Sydney and is the most southerly town in New South Wales. It has the third-deepest natural harbour in the southern hemisphere, and is a former whaling station.

On the night between those two days at sea I went to bed feeling my throat felt suspiciously sore, and sure enough by the morning my nose was running and I was sneezing – just a head cold, or so I thought at the time.

I had booked most of my shore tours before I left home, in order to be sure that I got to go on the tours I wanted, and also to get the discounted price. In Eden there wasn’t a great deal of choice that interested me, I had booked a tour that went to two places – an animal park to see native animals, and a whaling museum. Having thought about it more during the voyage, I had decided to cancel the tour and get a refund, as I was due to go to a different animal park later in Australia, and I hate everything to do with whaling.

Given how unwell I felt the morning we sailed into Eden this was just as well, as I didn’t feel strong enough to even leave the ship! This was an anchor port, were passengers go ashore using the ship’s tenders, and I felt I didn’t want to spend the very little energy I had doing all that when the much more interesting and significant port of Sydney was coming up over the next two days. So all I can offer you for Eden is a few snaps taken from the deck of the ship:

tmp_20844-dsc08774011463667070tmp_20844-dsc08776011844721057tmp_20844-dsc08772012098628662

In my next post I will describe my two days in the iconic port of Sydney, and how my illness completely changed my plans for the time spent there.

One thought on “W1702 – Not Eden close

Leave a Reply

